A Grrrl Brigader’s Reflection

Grrrl B

This is part of a college admissions essay written by one of Dance Mission Theater’s Grrrl Brigaders.

Tell us about a personal quality, talent, accomplishment, contribution or experience that is important to you. What about this quality or accomplishment makes you proud and how does it relate to the person you are?

Grrrl Brigade 2014I have probably spent more time at San Francisco’s Dance Mission in the past year than I have in my own home. I joined Grrrl Brigade in middle school, looking for a place to dance, but finding much more than that. Grrrl Brigade is a place where girls of all ages can come and feel accepted, no matter their body type or background. It teaches its students about different cultures and dances from around the world, and, above all, it demonstrates how to be an active member of society; to stand up and take responsibility for your beliefs; to not complain about a lack of change, but take charge in seeing change happen.

Grrrl Brigade highlights individuality and realizes that it is differences that unify a community. Through Grrrl Brigade, I have been able to learn a wide variety of dance styles, from belly dance to ballet. Last year, I was given the opportunity to participate in Carnaval, a multicultural festival in San Francisco’s Mission district, complete with brilliant, bright outfits embellished with feathers and sparkles. I was featured on a green and yellow Brazilian float, and danced in ways I have never danced before. Grrrl Brigade allowed me to step out of my comfort zone, but feel safe and protected at the same time.

After joining Grrrl Brigade, I was opened up to experiences that educated me, giving me the ability to make my own opinions in everyday situations. Participating in One Billion Rising, a movement based on rejecting oppression and fighting for rights, was an empowering experience that I found through Grrrl Brigade. Both a flash mob and dance performance, I saw women of all ages forgetting differences and focusing their passions towards achieving common goals. This event showed me what it was to be an adult, to be responsible, to take a stand.

I am often confused as to how to utilize dance; I have spent years perfecting the craft and I am afraid of regret, of waste. Participation in Grrrl Brigade has given me a way to speak my mind through dance and has connected me to girls my age who believe in me and value my opinion. Looking back, when I joined Grrrl Brigade six years ago, I did not just sign up for a dance class, I signed up for an outlet to release my emotions and affect change, and in turn, expand my knowledge on all aspects of the world; for that, being a contributing member of Grrrl Brigade is my greatest accomplishment.

                                                               ###

Dancing on the Edge of the WorldDance Brigade’s Daughter Company, Grrrl Brigade Presents:

Dancing On the Edge of The World! May 2 – 4, 2014
A People’s History of the U.S.
Dedicated to Howard Zinn

May 2-4, Friday, 8pm; Saturday, 3pm; Sunday, 3pm and 7pm

Tickets now on sale at www.brownpapertickets.com

Through Fierce Dancing and ground shaking taiko drumming, Grrrl Brigade & Jr. Grrrl Brigade take us on a journey through the peoples history of the U.S. Remembering and honoring the peoples and cultures that have built our America.

Ads displayed on our blog pages are undesirably placed by the site that hosts this blog and absolutely do NOT reflect the views or policies of Dance Brigade’s Dance Mission Theater. We encourage all our readers to be conscientious with the media we choose to absorb. Free minds!

Leave a Reply

